INTA Trademark Scholarship Symposium in Hong Kong

Fifth Annual INTA Trademark Scholarship Symposium in Hong Kong, May 12, 2014

The International Trademark Association (“INTA”) is pleased to host the Fifth Annual Trademark Scholarship Symposium during the 136th INTA Annual Meeting in Hong Kong The Symposium will take place on Monday, May 12, 2014 as part of INTA’s Academic Day and is an opportunity for trademark scholars from around the world to present a complete, or near complete, work of trademark scholarship to practitioners and academics. This year we are only selecting 1-4 papers, which will be presented with a practitioner and an academic commentator, rather than in the traditional workshop setting.

Please send an abstract (approximately 300 words) describing a current trademark or unfair competition scholarship project to Co-Chairs Signe H. Naeve at and Jeremy Sheff at by February 15, 2014. The Task Force will then select a maximum of 4 papers to be presented at the Symposium. Selections will be announced by March 1, 2014. For each selected project, a near complete draft of the paper must be submitted by April 1, 2013. There is no publication obligation.

Participants will receive complimentary enrollment in the Academic Day program, including an all-professor panel exploring boundaries of trademark law, a trademark professor luncheon offering perspectives from in-house counsel, a reception and other networking opportunities. Airfare and accommodations are the speaker’s responsibility. For INTA membership and Annual Meeting registration information, please contact Carin Diep-Dixon at

The Symposium is organized by the INTA Professor Task Force:
• Barton Beebe, New York University Law School
• David C. Berry, Thomas M. Cooley Law School
• Megan M. Carpenter, Texas Wesleyan University School of Law
• Eric Goldman, Santa Clara University School of Law
• Mark Janis, Indiana University Maurer School of Law
• Susan Barbieri Montgomery, Northeastern University School of Law & College of Business Administration
• Signe H. Naeve, University of Washington School of Law
• Antonio Selas, Law School of Universidad Carlos III
• Jeremy Sheff, St. John’s University School of Law